fbpx
James Reid

James Reid

Senior Structural Engineer

BE (Civil), MScEng

Over a career spanning 24 years, including an associateship at a leading South African consulting engineering practice, co-founding consulting engineering practices in South Africa and India and more recently providing independent specialist structural engineering design services, James has worked on projects of every size on both brownfield and greenfield sites providing specialist structural design, project management, contract administration and structural audit services in the heavy industrial, mining, water treatment and road infrastructure industries. He has a passion for providing practical design solutions and has extensive experience in the design of reinforced concrete, prestressed concrete and structural steel structures including steel and concrete tanks, reservoirs, bridges, plant and equipment support structures and structures supporting rotating and vibrating equipment.

The GRIT team

Jason Matthews

Director / Senior Structural Engineer
NZCE (Civil), BE (Civil) 1st Class Honours, MENGNZ, NACE 3 M 027 8686820 E jason@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Erik Thomson

Lead Structural Engineer
Master of Engineering, CPEng (NZ), IntPE (NZ), CEng (UK), MEng (NZ), CMEng (NZ), MICE (UK) E erik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Dan Welch

Lead Asset Management Engineer
B.Eng.Sc (Mechanical), NACE CIP1 E dan@gritengineering.co.nz More +

David Wong

Structural Engineer
Chartered Engineer (CMEngNZ), Chartered Civil Engineer (MICE) E david@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Sebastian Kent

Project Manager / Marine Engineer
Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Mining Engineering ACSM E sebastian@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Ana Passadore Denis

Business Development / Project Manager
Bachelor of Industrial Engineering (Hons) E ana@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Rob Aubrey

Project Manager
BE (Civil), NZCE (Civil) E rob@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Hendrik Eloff

Durability, Corrosion and Coating Inspector
NACE CIP2, Diploma - Fundamental Management Program, National Diploma - Engineering Studies, Boilermaker Trade Cert M 027 8686825 E hendrik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Maree Wedding

Financial Controller
M 022 659 3868 E maree@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Danielle Bellamy

Business Administrator
BDes in Landscape Architecture (Hons) E danielle@gritengineering.co.nz More +

What our clients say…

As contractors on various industrial sites across NZ, we have enjoyed a close collaborative working relationship with Jason and his crew at Grit Engineering. Recently we have engaged with Grit for subject matter expertise both for structural as well as coatings scopes and make no hesitation in recommending the services and technical know-how offered by Jason and the team at Grit.

— Geordie McPherson, Vertech NZ