fbpx

We are an independent and recognised specialist engineering company. We are frequently called on to review the work of other engineers and consultants thanks to our practical approach and thorough knowledge as well as rigorous analysis, fact-based risk management and focus to deliver solutions that are fit for purpose, constructible and durable.

At GRIT Engineering, we don’t do can’t. “OWN THE CHALLENGE” is our motto and we live by it. If it is tough, high risk and challenging we want to hear about it.  Every engineering problem has a solution and we specialise in finding ways to assess, modify, maintain and build industrial and infrastructure assets that save our clients’ money (fit for purpose, smarter, safer, sustainable).  At GRIT we don’t do can’t.

We walk the talk every time and are all about adding value in our areas of expertise where we are genuinely qualified and experienced: civil structural engineering and design, durability and rehabilitation, asset management and coatings corrosion protection engineering.

What are we here for? Sustainable infrastructure for NZ’s future generations.

Fit for purpose engineering

We approach every engineering challenge with the aim of delivering a fit for purpose solution, ensuring quality and longevity, whilst minimising costs and operational impact.

To do this, we work closely with you to understand:

  • Critical and non-critical elements or assets
  • Performance and durability expectations
  • Specific risks and mitigation factors
  • Levels of risk tenable to your operation
  • Current regulations and compliance factors

With all of this in mind, design, specification and quality control are tailored to your needs, so you can confidently manage your assets and accurately plan for the future.

Multidisciplinary approach

Drawing on our network of multidisciplinary experts and experienced engineers, we look at ways to deliver efficiencies and the best possible value across the entire project, not just the lowest cost solution for our discipline.

Ingenious solutions

When it comes to complex engineering problems, we challenge the norms and question the status quo, to design ingenious solutions that fulfil all your project objectives, backed up by rigorous analysis and expertise.

Meet the Grit Team

Jason Matthews

Director / Senior Structural Engineer
NZCE (Civil), BE (Civil) 1st Class Honours, MENGNZ, NACE 3 M 027 8686820 E jason@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Erik Thomson

Lead Structural Engineer
Master of Engineering, CPEng (NZ), IntPE (NZ), CEng (UK), MEng (NZ), CMEng (NZ), MICE (UK) E erik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Dan Welch

Lead Asset Management Engineer
B.Eng.Sc (Mechanical), NACE CIP1 E dan@gritengineering.co.nz More +

James Reid

Senior Structural Engineer
BE (Civil), MScEng E jamesr@gritengineering.co.nz More +

David Wong

Structural Engineer
Chartered Engineer (CMEngNZ), Chartered Civil Engineer (MICE) E david@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Sebastian Kent

Project Manager / Marine Engineer
Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Mining Engineering ACSM E sebastian@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Ana Passadore Denis

Business Development / Project Manager
Bachelor of Industrial Engineering (Hons) E ana@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Rob Aubrey

Project Manager
BE (Civil), NZCE (Civil) E rob@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Hendrik Eloff

Durability, Corrosion and Coating Inspector
NACE CIP2, Diploma - Fundamental Management Program, National Diploma - Engineering Studies, Boilermaker Trade Cert M 027 8686825 E hendrik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Maree Wedding

Financial Controller
M 022 659 3868 E maree@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Danielle Bellamy

Business Administrator
BDes in Landscape Architecture (Hons) E danielle@gritengineering.co.nz More +

What our clients say…

As contractors on various industrial sites across NZ, we have enjoyed a close collaborative working relationship with Jason and his crew at Grit Engineering. Recently we have engaged with Grit for subject matter expertise both for structural as well as coatings scopes and make no hesitation in recommending the services and technical know-how offered by Jason and the team at Grit.

— Geordie McPherson, Vertech NZ