fbpx
Erik Thomson

Erik Thomson

Lead Structural Engineer

Master of Engineering, CPEng (NZ), IntPE (NZ), CEng (UK), MEng (NZ), CMEng (NZ), MICE (UK)

Erik is a Chartered Structural Engineer (in NZ and UK) with 12 years of structural design, project management, and construction monitoring experience within heavy industrial and infrastructure sectors. He has delivered complex projects of varying sizes (from NZD$5m all the way to £1.0bn) both in NZ and worldwide including the Brent Delta Offshore Platform Topside Removal – a landmark project for the Oil and Gas industry due its magnitude and unique nature, a Nestle Plant Expansion Project in the Philippines, a new geothermal pipeline and power station in Indonesia and various water treatment plant projects in NZ– to mention a few.

Erik brings robust civil/structural engineering knowledge and strong leadership in the delivery of projects to highest standards. He has empowered employees with Safety in Design mentoring and challenged traditional approaches to come up with innovative solutions. Thanks to his ambition he has not only saved clients’ money but realised other socio-economic benefits to the local community and surrounding environment.

The GRIT team

Jason Matthews

Director / Senior Structural Engineer
NZCE (Civil), BE (Civil) 1st Class Honours, MENGNZ, NACE 3 M 027 8686820 E jason@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Dan Welch

Lead Asset Management Engineer
B.Eng.Sc (Mechanical), NACE CIP1 E dan@gritengineering.co.nz More +

James Reid

Senior Structural Engineer
BE (Civil), MScEng E jamesr@gritengineering.co.nz More +

David Wong

Structural Engineer
Chartered Engineer (CMEngNZ), Chartered Civil Engineer (MICE) E david@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Sebastian Kent

Project Manager / Marine Engineer
Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Mining Engineering ACSM E sebastian@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Ana Passadore Denis

Business Development / Project Manager
Bachelor of Industrial Engineering (Hons) E ana@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Rob Aubrey

Project Manager
BE (Civil), NZCE (Civil) E rob@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Hendrik Eloff

Durability, Corrosion and Coating Inspector
NACE CIP2, Diploma - Fundamental Management Program, National Diploma - Engineering Studies, Boilermaker Trade Cert M 027 8686825 E hendrik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Maree Wedding

Financial Controller
M 022 659 3868 E maree@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Danielle Bellamy

Business Administrator
BDes in Landscape Architecture (Hons) E danielle@gritengineering.co.nz More +

What our clients say…

Jason from Grit Engineering has provided invaluable assistance to our client on coating and durability issues as part of a complex building defect claim in the High Court

— Nikki Flexman, Senior Associate at Rice Speir