fbpx
Jason Matthews

Jason Matthews

Director / Senior Structural Engineer

NZCE (Civil), BE (Civil) 1st Class Honours, MENGNZ, NACE 3

Jason lives by the philosophy “no such word as can’t”. So much so he named his yacht “Can’t”, right before he took off to sail the world on it – something he was frequently told “you can’t do”.

These days he applies the same philosophy to his work, developing fit-for-purpose solutions to complex engineering problems, taking a holistic approach to find the best and most efficient solution for every job. It’s an approach that has seen him win loyal clients, including Refining NZ, who rely on Jason’s extensive knowledge and experience across a wide range of disciplines, materials and projects, to provide fit-for-purpose solutions to any problem.

Jason is a highly qualified practitioner, with a 1st Class Honours Degree in Civil Engineering, and significant specialist training in assessment of ageing structures, coating inspection and corrosion technologies, durability and seismic assessment. He has experience with steel and concrete structures, petrochemical assets, jetties, bridges, tanks, underground structures, services and infrastructure, gained throughout a career spanning two decades in NZ and overseas. He is frequently called on to review the work of other engineers and consultants, thanks to his practical approach and thorough knowledge of codes and standards.

 

 

Refining NZ Hive Safety Awards – nomination  – “Jason is constantly looking for ways to efficiently do a job at the least cost, with the best and safest outcomes.  Although he has an enormous workload, he exceeds all expectations”.

The GRIT team

Erik Thomson

Lead Structural Engineer
Master of Engineering, CPEng (NZ), IntPE (NZ), CEng (UK), MEng (NZ), CMEng (NZ), MICE (UK) E erik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Dan Welch

Lead Asset Management Engineer
B.Eng.Sc (Mechanical), NACE CIP1 E dan@gritengineering.co.nz More +

James Reid

Senior Structural Engineer
BE (Civil), MScEng E jamesr@gritengineering.co.nz More +

David Wong

Structural Engineer
Chartered Engineer (CMEngNZ), Chartered Civil Engineer (MICE) E david@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Sebastian Kent

Project Manager / Marine Engineer
Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Mining Engineering ACSM E sebastian@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Ana Passadore Denis

Business Development / Project Manager
Bachelor of Industrial Engineering (Hons) E ana@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Rob Aubrey

Project Manager
BE (Civil), NZCE (Civil) E rob@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Hendrik Eloff

Durability, Corrosion and Coating Inspector
NACE CIP2, Diploma - Fundamental Management Program, National Diploma - Engineering Studies, Boilermaker Trade Cert M 027 8686825 E hendrik@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Maree Wedding

Financial Controller
M 022 659 3868 E maree@gritengineering.co.nz More +

Danielle Bellamy

Business Administrator
BDes in Landscape Architecture (Hons) E danielle@gritengineering.co.nz More +

What our clients say…

Jason from Grit Engineering has provided invaluable assistance to our client on coating and durability issues as part of a complex building defect claim in the High Court

— Nikki Flexman, Senior Associate at Rice Speir